net888 October 6, 2018

Marshall is only one among the two justices to appear on U.S currency

Justice Marshall was seen to appear on the $500 bill while justice Salmon P. Chase appeared on the $10,000 bill. Unfortunately, none of these bills are in circulation today.

The court didn’t have a fully functional home until 1935

Before the Civil War, the court was displaced and seen in various locations and where it was housed under the Old Senate Chamber from the year 1861 to 1935. Unfortunately, the chamber was not sufficiently spacious. It was deprived of adequate space that the judges had to eat lunch in their robing room. It was Chief Justice William Howard Taft who led the drive for a Supreme Court Building.


Taft was the single and only president who sat on the court

Unfortunately, Taft died before the new Supreme Court building was opened, and he is the only president who later became a Justice.

The Justices did ride the circuit and heard cases around the country

This requirement meant that Justices of the Supreme Court were mandated to preside at least once a year over the circuit courts strategically placed throughout the nation. This requirement wasn’t lifted until 1891.

There have been 17 Chief Justices and as a result, 17 courts

Historians of the Supreme Court categorize eras in court history by the name of the Chief Justice presiding over the bench and its sessions. Robert Court is the 17th on the books while Jay Court was the first.


The second chief justice lasted a few months on the job

Justice John Rutledge was a recess appointment to the court in 1795, to replace John Jay when Rutledge criticized the Congress in a public speech, as a result of that, a few months later his nominations for a permanent seat in the bench was rejected by the Senate.

There was a Supreme Court Justice who was born in Turkey

Justice David J. Brewer hailed from a family of missionaries and was born in the Ottoman Republic in 1837. He had later become a Supreme court Justice and served on the bench.

There was a Justice’s grandson on the court

Legendary Justice John Marshall Harlan had served the court from 1877 to 1911. Later his grandson, Justice John Marshall Harlan II had served the court from 1955 to 1971.

Two Justices took their oath on the same day

January 7 of 1972 saw Lewis F. Powell Jr. and William H. Rehnquist being sworn in on the same day during a special sitting of the court. Seniority is determined by age when two Justices join the court on the same day.

Seven future Supreme Court Justices clerked at the Supreme Court

William H. Rehnquist, Byron R. White, John Paul Stevens, Stephen G. Breyer, John G. Roberts, Elena Kagan, and Neil Gorsuch all served as clerks before becoming later Supreme Court Justices.



Leave a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*